Happiness

On picnics..

14551194349_f6cae56298_z

“I have a secret weapon…..scotch eggs!” Louisa Durrell

Food is memories and a picnic, usually eaten in the back of a car made me realize some foods I only eat at home in Yorkshire or had when I was a child.

Food evokes memories of a time and place – at the races, a country show, by the beach or after a blustery winter walk (most recently). The food in question is scotch egg, pork pie, sausage rolls (all meat?!) The scotch egg especially was such a treat when I was small. Now if the urge takes hold I pop to my local for a lovely homemade version.

Picnics were one of few times we all ate together. My brother is a lot older than me and we all had lives. So getting together before a big day out or after, savouring the moment – is what you remember.

What did you eat? Where do you and your family go for picnics?

(Photo: WanderingtheWorld (www.ChrisFord.com) via Visualhunt / CC BY-NC)

PS. Jam sandwich

Leave a Reply

